Geocachers of the Rochester Area Forum Index Geocachers of the Rochester Area
Promoting a quality geocaching experience in the Rochester, NY region
 
 HomeHome   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How far can a cache be moved?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Geocachers of the Rochester Area Forum Index -> Ask Sapience Trek!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blue_stone



Joined: 19 Nov 2007
Posts: 206
Location: Where ever I happen to be sitting

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 11:00 am    Post subject: How far can a cache be moved? Reply with quote

Hey Sapience,
Quick question, just wondering how far a cache can be moved without having to resubmit it?

I have a cache placed, and there is some minor construction/re-landscaping going on within 50-100ft of it. It can stay pretty close to its original coords when construction is completed, I'm just worried about it in the mean time. I'd rather not disable it, just move it maybe 200-300ft until construction is complete.

Just wondering what your omnipotent guidance would have to say about it.
Thanx!
_________________
Veni, Vidi, Velcro (I came, I saw, I stuck around)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sapiencetrek



Joined: 26 Feb 2008
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can move a cache up to 528ft (I think) using a log of type "update coordinates". Anything more than that and the site will tell you that you can't. But then you have to ask yourself, if you are moving it more than that, isn't it a new cache anyway?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dakboy



Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 533
Location: Cdga

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sapiencetrek wrote:
But then you have to ask yourself, if you are moving it more than that, isn't it a new cache anyway?
Not if you accidentally transposed a couple digits in the coords Smile
_________________
My geocaching.com profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Geocachers of the Rochester Area Forum Index -> Ask Sapience Trek! All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group